Request A Free Consultation

Workers’ Compensation Benefits in Tennessee

Posted on January 29, 2024 in

Being injured on the job in Tennessee can severely limit your ability to work and cover life’s necessities, much less additional medical bills. Workers’ compensation benefits may be available if an employer’s insurance does not cover the injury. To seek the appropriate financial compensation, contact a Mt. Juliet workers’ compensation lawyer who will work for your best interests and recovery.

Meet the Filing Deadlines

If you are injured at work, notification must be given to an employer within 15 days, but waiting is never recommended. A workplace’s insurance company may voluntarily pay you benefits. A workers’ compensation claim must be filed within one year, along with proof that the injury resulted from your job.

Workers’ compensation rates address variables affecting monetary loss, including medical care, wage loss, and the death of an employee due to work illness or injury. Focusing on legalities while being injured is challenging. And waiting to begin the process can result in losing critical documentation supporting your compensation.

Temporary Disability for Tennessee Employees

When a doctor determines an individual cannot work during recovery, temporary benefits may be awarded. Two types of temporary disability benefits are designated in Tennessee. The disability must last 14 days for an employee to be compensated for the first seven days of disability.

Temporary Partial Disability

Restrictions placed on a worker after an injury while allowing an individual to return to work based on a light-duty protocol can result in temporary partial disability. The amount for this disability equals two-thirds of the difference between the pre-injury income and the income earned performing post-injury duties. The rates of disability compensation are defined by state law.

Temporary Permanent Disability

When a doctor determines an individual cannot perform any work duties during recovery, temporary permanent disability will be granted. The amount of compensation is equal to two-thirds of the standard weekly pay. Minimum and maximum amounts are designated in the link above to the Tennessee Department of Labor & Workforce Development.

These benefits are distributed until a doctor removes restrictions. When an employee reaches maximum medical improvement (MMI), the employee will return to work, or a determination is reached that the health of an employee is unlikely to get any better. An evaluation will establish the need for more permanent disability benefits.

Permanent Disability for Tennessee Employees

After a health evaluation and a doctor determines MMI, an employee may be eligible for two types of permanent disability depending on the severity of the lasting injuries. Maximizing the compensation you receive is vital for any work-related injury to provide for appropriate treatment.

Permanent Partial Disability

While an employee may no longer be able to perform the work they once did, an individual may still be able to do some paying work. Permanent partial disability is awarded according to the percentage of loss of bodily function. Lump sums for this disability may be approved.

Permanent Total Disability

Severe injuries that prevent an individual from working result in permanent disability compensation. These benefits will be ongoing. When the individual reaches the designated age, full social security benefits will replace disability benefits.

Mt. Juliet Workers’ Compensation Lawyer

When an employee is injured, their best interests should be safeguarded to provide fair compensation for the disability. These benefits are often hard-won or lost without relentless representation. The Law Offices of Christopher Eads protects the rights of injured employees to ensure the workers’ compensation benefits you deserve.