Request A Free Consultation

Steps for Filing a Workers’ Compensation Claim

Posted on April 10, 2023 in

Workers hurt on the job in Tennessee should feel that filing a workers’ compensation claim in no way threatens their employment status. It does not matter who was at fault for the accident. Employees still deserve the benefits expressed in the Tennessee Workers’ Compensation law.

Enlisting the guidance of a workers’ compensation attorney in Mt. Juliet, TN, can help you navigate the process, ensuring that you receive compensation for your injuries without fear of reprisal.

Take the Proper Steps

What steps should you take if you are injured at work and need to file a compensation claim?

Step 1: Seek medical attention

Making sure you are okay is your top priority. It is okay to call for an ambulance if you feel your situation requires emergency medical attention.

Step 2: Report your injury to your employer

Your work-related injury must be reported to your employer within 15 days, and failing to do so can forfeit your benefits except in rare cases. It is best to report the injury to your supervisor immediately.

Step 3: Make sure your employer files the proper forms

Your employer has one working day to file the appropriate forms to their workers’ compensation insurer. Following up with your employer is a way to help clear up any miscommunication or missed deadlines as soon as possible.

Step 4: Await the outcome

Your employer’s workers’ compensation insurance company should file the appropriate forms with the Tennessee Department of Labor and Workforce Development Bureau of Workers’ Compensation. You should receive a copy of these forms and a copy of The Beginner’s Guide to Tennessee Workers’ Compensation, and a claims adjuster should contact you to begin the investigation.

Step 5: Start the appeal process

Unfortunately, claims get denied for many reasons. But you have the right to appeal this decision within 30 days to the Workers’ Compensation Appeals Board or seven days if your case was expedited, or you may appeal directly to the Tennessee Supreme Court.

Important Notes for Filing a Claim

It is required to give notice to your employer in writing and include your name and address. State the time, place, events, and cause of the accident clearly, and include your signature. Sending your letter by certified mail lets you document that your employer received your notice.
There are steps to petition the decision leading to an appeal if no resolution is found and your claim is denied.

Understanding the laws that apply to worker’s compensation is complex. To secure the settlement you deserve more quickly, speaking with a Mt. Juliet workers’ compensation lawyer may yield faster, more favorable results.

Work With a Mt. Juliet Workers’ Compensation Lawyer

Tennessee workers’ compensation benefits are designed to return injured workers to their health and job as soon as possible. If you feel you have been mistreated after filing a claim, or if your claim has been denied, The Law Offices of Christopher Eads will ensure you receive representation that can secure your fair compensation.

The best way to ensure proper treatment of your claim is to reach out at the beginning of the process. We provide a direct line of communication, walking you through the entirety of the process to resolution. We pride ourselves on our success and ability to help our clients.