Tennessee requires all drivers to carry a minimum amount of auto insurance to legally operate a vehicle. Proof of coverage must also be in your car at all times. After an accident, insurance claims are a primary means of recovering compensation for injuries and repairs and whoever is determined at fault is legally responsible for the damages.
The following minimum amounts of liability insurance are required in Tennessee:
Minimum Liability Coverage: 25/50/15
Liability coverage will only pay for the harm that you cause. Your insurance company will pay up to $50,000 for any injuries or deaths caused to another party and up to $15,000 in property damage to repair or replace their vehicle and/or other personal items. This coverage does not pay for your injuries or property damage.
Insurance companies are required to offer uninsured motorist coverage, but drivers can reject the coverage in writing.
Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Coverage: 25/50/15
If a Tennessee driver does not opt-out of this coverage, uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage helps pay for a car accident in which the at-fault driver does not have car insurance or does not have enough coverage for the damage they caused.
Drivers also have the option of purchasing additional coverage.
Driving without insurance in Tennessee is a Class C misdemeanor and can lead to the following penalties:
Repeat offenders may be required to go through a defensive driving course and pass the exam before their license can be reinstated. Once reinstated, their insurance company will have to file an SR-22 form as proof of their auto insurance. This form allows an insurer to charge higher premiums and remain on a driving record for three years.