Request A Free Consultation

Mount Juliet Domestic Violence Attorney

If you have been falsely accused of or are facing a domestic violence charge, you need a Mount Juliet domestic violence attorney on your side. Our Mount Juliet criminal defense attorney will review your case and discuss your legal options in a free consultation. Call (615) 622-6060 or send us a message online today.

Why Choose Our Mount Juliet Domestic Violence Lawyer? 

  • We understand how difficult facing a domestic violence charge time can be and will help you navigate each step of the criminal justice process. 
  • Our clients always have an open line of communication with their attorney and will work directly with them from start to finish. 
  • Our attorney, Christopher Eads, has received recognition awards from Best Lawyers for Best Lawyers: Ones to Watch in 2021 and 2022. 

What Is Domestic Violence in Tennessee? 

Domestic assault is one of the most common domestic abuse charges in Tennessee. Assault is categorized as domestic depending on the relationship between the victim and the offender. For example, assault between current or former spouses, current or former roommates, current or former dating or sexual partners, blood relatives or adopted relatives, relatives through marriage, or parents and children would be considered domestic abuse.

Domestic assault consists of any of the following conduct:

  • Intentionally, knowingly, or recklessly causing bodily injury to another person
  • Causing a person to reasonably fear imminent bodily injury, or
  • Causing physical contact that a reasonable person would find extremely provocative or offensive.

If the assault results in serious bodily injury or involves attempted strangulation or a deadly weapon, the charge may be elevated to aggravated assault. Other domestic abuse-related crimes include stalking and harassment, violating an order of protection, and more. 

Penalties for Domestic Abuse in Mount Juliet, TN

Those charged with a domestic abuse-related crime can face the following penalties. 

Misdemeanor Domestic Assault

Depending on the facts of the situation, a domestic assault offender can be charged with a Class A or B misdemeanor. A Class A misdemeanor carries a penalty of up to 11 months and 29 days in jail, along with a $15,000 fine. A Class B misdemeanor offender can face up to six months in jail and a $500 fine. A judge can also add $100 to $200 as an additional fine. 

Felony Aggravated Assault 

An aggravated assault offender can be charged with a Class C or D felony. A Class C felony carries a sentence of three to 15 years in prison and a $10,000 fine. A Class D felony offender may spend two to 12 years in prison and a $5,000 fine. When it is a domestic-related charge, the judge can also add a fine of up to $200. 

Stalking and Harassment

Harassment is classified as either a Class A misdemeanor or a Class E felony. A Class E felony is punishable by one to six years in prison and a fine up to $3,000. While stalking can range from a Class A misdemeanor to a Class C felony. 

Violating an Order of Protection

Violating a restraining order or order of protection is charged as a Class A misdemeanor. 

Repeat offenses can lead to even harsher penalties and possibly restitution for the domestic abuse victim. 

Contact Our Mount Juliet Domestic Violence Attorney Today

We know the significant impact a domestic abuse charge can have on your life. Ensure you have the skilled representation you deserve. Call (615) 622-6060 to schedule a free consultation today